British Academy Wolfson Research Professorships

British Academy Wolfson Research Professorships

In partnership with the British Academy, the Wolfson Foundation supports excellence in humanities research through funding a small number of professorships.

The professorships, awarded over a three year period, enable established academics to concentrate on a specific research programme while freed from teaching and administrative commitments. Communication of work to a broad public audience is encouraged, and is an important part of the assessment process.

The current British Academy/ Wolfson Research Professors are:

Professor Nicholas Cook, FBA, University of Cambridge
Musical encounters: studies in relational musicology

Professor Sheilagh Ogilvie, FBA, University of Cambridge
Human Capital and Economic Outcomes in a European Developing Economy, c. 1600 - c. 1900

Professor Peter Wade, University of Manchester
Race, nation and genomics: biology and society

Professor Alan Williams, University of Manchester
The Restitution of Rumi's Masnavi

For more information about the latest round of Wolfson Research Professorships, please see the British Academy website.