Wolfson History Prize

Established in 1972, the Wolfson History Prize aims to recognise and reward the best historical writing produced in the UK.

The annual prize of £40,000 is awarded to the author whose book is judged to best combine readability and excellence in research.

Titles shortlisted for the Wolfson History Prize 2017

It is the first time that the Prize has issued a shortlist in its 45 year history. Each shortlisted author will receive £4,000.

The overall winner will be revealed at a reception at Claridge’s on Monday 15 May 2017 and will receive a total prize of £40,000.

Read the full shortlist press release 


Daniel Beer
The House of the Dead:
Siberian Exile under
the Tsars

(Allen Lane)

Chris Given-Wilson
Henry IV
(Yale University Press)


Christopher de Hamel
Meetings with
Remarkable Manuscripts

(Allen Lane)

Sasha Handley
Sleep in Early
Modern England
(Yale University Press) 


Lyndal Roper
Martin Luther:
Renegade and Prophet

(The Bodley Head)

Matthew Strickland
Henry the Young King,
1155 – 1183
(Yale University Press)