Wolfson History Prize

Established in 1972, the Wolfson History Prize aims to recognise and reward the best historical writing produced in the UK.

The annual prize of £40,000 is awarded to the author whose book is judged to best combine readability and excellence in research.

The winner of the Wolfson History Prize 2017 will be announced on 15 May 2017. The shortlist will be announced in April. 

Latest Winners

Until 2016, up to 3 awards were made every year. From 2017, a shortlist of six titles are announced in advance of one overall winner.

The winners of the Wolfson History Prizes 2016 (for books published in 2015) were announced at a reception at Claridge's on 15 June 2016. 

Robin Lane Fox
Augustine: Conversions and Confessions
(Allen Lane)

Professor Nikolaus Wachsmann
KL: A History of the Nazi Concentration Camps

Read BBC History Magazine's exclusive interview with the Prize winners and Chief Executive, Paul Ramsbottom.

The winners both received an award of £30,000. The judges for the prize were Professor Sir David Cannadine (Chairman), Professor Sir Richard Evans, Professor Julia Smith, and Professor Sir Diarmaid MacCulloch.

Find out more about the winners of the Wolfson History Prize 2016.